Tags

, , ,

IMG_20170806_173315

I thought doing a really pretty plating for this picture.  I started to and then thought – I’m too hungry to care.  This dish was so good but it takes time to make.  I started with this recipe but I’m just not one who can follow a recipe apparently.

I recommend making your own ginger and garlic paste.  I went with lime juice because my ginger was leftover from making ginger lime syrup and I had fresh limes that needed using up.  It was nothing to make the paste using a coffee grinder (I have one just for this sort of thing).  My garlic was actually garlic I preserved in oil.  My fresh garlic had completely dried out.  I share these things because I want you to understand that you can use what you have.  More often than not, you can substitute without any problem.

I recommend you buy some garam masala.  This is a spice blend that is not spicy.  It’s on the sweet side with cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, cumin, coriander, and a few other spices.
I went with cayenne because I didn’t have a lot of the spicy ingredients required for this recipe.  With the little bit I used, my family still found it too be a little too spicy.  I loved the heat amount.  I thought it was perfect.  If your family is like mine, skip any of the spicy stuff.

Paneer Tikka Masala

Marinade:

1 cup plain yogurt
Juice of half a lime
1 teaspoon ginger paste
1 teaspoon garlic paste
3/4 teaspoon garam masala
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
2 Tablespoons vegetable oil
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
250 grams paneer, cubed

Mix all the ingredients together.  I recommend whisking together the marinade first and then stirring in the paneer.  Let sit for a minimum of two hours.

Gravy

1 teaspoon butter
1 1/2 teaspoons ginger paste
1 1/2 teaspoons garlic paste
1 can of petite diced tomatoes (about 14.5 ounces)
2 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon garam masala
1 teaspoon ground cumin
3/4 teaspoon ground coriander
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1/3 cup water
1/4 cup heavy whipping cream

In large skillet, melt butter.  Add ginger and garlic pastes and saute for about 2 minutes.  Add tomatoes and spices.  Bring to a simmer over medium-low heat and let simmer for about 15 – 20 minutes.  Add water and simmer an additional 5 minutes.
Meanwhile, remove the paneer from the marinade.  (Since the marinade was a little spicy for my family, I removed as much of the marinade as I could and disposed of it.) Lay the cubes on a baking sheet covered with a piece of parchment.  Broil for 1-2 minutes.
Stir the cream into the sauce and add the paneer.  Simmer ten more minutes.
Serve over rice.

