Tags

, , , ,

IMG_20170805_184336

Sorry about the disappearance, still under the weather.  But I should be present for the rest of the week.

One of the most interesting things I have canned is sausage.  Not sure why that seems so weird to me but it does.  You’ll see my sausage is still fatty but you’d never guess how much I drained it before canning.  I have enough fat from recent canning to make some pretty decent soap.

I, actually started with ground pork.  We prefer to buy plain pork and season it as necessary.  Usually ground pork has less fat but this stuff was not the case.  Because I had several pounds to can, I went for some creative cooking.

Sausage must be browned before canning, so I dumped the whole amount in a roaster and seasoned (to be fair, my husband did this under my instruction).  Bake at 350, breaking up the sausage every few minutes or so until it’s in smaller browned pieces.

Then the draining.  I drained the meat in a colander and used a slotted spoon.  I was sure the meat was going to be dry but that ring of fat on the glass tells me differently.  It’s only on the glass – it’s not a solid piece of fat on top of the meat.

I went with pint jars because I thought it would equate a pound and be the perfect size for dumping into meals.  I packed fairly tight (as you can),  I didn’t smash the meat in but was very good at using the jar for what it was worth.  Sausage requires a 1 inch headspace but I allowed the meat to broach that some.  Then cover with boiling water (this I stopped at 1 inch to keep an accurate headspace).

Fatty foods can leave a film on the top of the glass so I washed every rim with hot water and vinegar before adding my lids and rings.

This is a pressure canned food so I set all my jars in my canner.  I could get 14 pint jars in my canner.  I think some of the jars I did were pork, not just sausage.

I have a weighted gauge canner so I always use the 15 pound weight.  We live at a higher elevation and it requires the larger weight.  If you live below 1000 ft, then you can use the 10 pound weight.

Pint sized pork products (sausage, canned pork meat) must be in the pressurized canner for 75 minutes.  I misread and had my timer set for the quart size (of 90 minutes).  I realized my mistake with less than 10 minutes on the timer so my pork was actually canned for 80 minutes.

We haven’t opened any of the canned products because we still have a very full freezer.  We, also, have an amazingly full pantry.  It’s nice to not have to buy so many groceries.  We’ll be working on some recipes to help reduce some of the bulk.

