Tags

, , ,

IMG_20170709_111812

I found this recipe for “constipation candy”.   It sounded interesting so I tried it.  When we got sick, these candies were my go to.  The lemon and honey and oil were so soothing to my throat.  I find that I grab one when I’m feeling like I need a little tummy help or when I want something sweet.  Which lead me to making chocolate flavored candies.  I had a little difficulty because it’s been so hot in our house but that didn’t stop me from making a really good candy.  I’ve thrown them in my coffee.  They are so good and so good for you.

I’m not going to tout the benefits of coconut oil because it is controversial and I think you need to do the research yourself.  However, oils have often been used to help keep the digestive tract running smooth.  I have yet to eat more than one candy at a time.  Not really sure I have eaten more than 2 in a day.  With the heat, they are a soothing treat because they are so cold.

These need to be stored in the fridge and they are not overly sweet.

Coconut oil candy

Honey Lemon:
1 cup coconut oil (make this one a good tasting one)
1/4 – 1/3 lemon juice
2 tablespoons honey
1/4 teaspoon pink himalayan salt

Chocolate:
1 cup coconut oil
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons cocoa powder

2 silicon molds (I use silicon ice trays from the dollar store)

Place the molds in the freezer.  Put the ingredients into a blender and blend.  Pour quickly into the molds and place in the freezer or refrigerator until hard.  Store in a jar in the fridge.

 

