Tags

, ,

IMG_20170627_203843

I wish I could claim responsibility for this recipe but I found it here.   I’ve been sharing recipes almost like reviews lately.  For me, this helps me remember what recipes I like but also gives me a place to save them.  Recently a food blog I love disappeared – I have no way to contact the owner to ask her about her recipes or where I will be able to find them in the future.  This has created a sort of fear that I will lose other websites and recipes.  So I’m sharing the whole recipe here.

IMG_20170629_065722

This recipe is super easy.  Since I made it in the mixer, it didn’t take a lot of time or attention.  I’m not sure if I have a smaller mixer than the recipe’s author uses because I did have to pay lots of attention during the kneading phase but it was only 10 minutes (my dough kept wanting to escape).

I skipped the butter topping so I’m renaming this recipe sandwich bread because that’s what it is.  It’s a light bread that slices beautifully.  It makes great sandwich and toast bread.  It might replace our cheap white bread for most things in our house (we’ve gotten in the habit of buying cheap bread instead of making it).  This makes two loaves so baking on the weekend will get you bread through the week.

I should note that I made one slight change with the recipe.  I find that yeast proofs better when you add the sugar with the yeast.  I made my loaves with water but milk or whey is also a good choice when making bread.  Last note – I only used 9 cups of flour except I did use about 1/4 cup during the rolling out phase.

Sandwich Bread
4 1/2 teaspoons yeast
3/4 cup warm water
1/4 cup sugar
3 TB soft butter, chopped
2 2/3 cups warm water or milk
9-10 cups all purpose flour
oil for bowls/pans

Proof yeast with sugar in the 3/4 cups of warm water in the bowl of your mixer with the paddle attachment.  Let sit 5-10 minutes.  Add butter and turn on mixer on low.  Add 2 2/3 cups liquid and then cup by cup add flour.  The dough will be soft and sticky.  Turn off mixer and swap the paddle for the dough hook.  Knead bread for 10 minutes.  Remove dough from mixer and set in large oiled bowl.  Turn the dough to coat with oil, cover with towel and set aside to rise.  Let dough rise for 1 hour or until doubled.
Once doubled, punch down.  Add a little flour to a counter and lay the dough on the counter.  Divide in half.  Press each half into a 12 x 12 square and roll into a tube.  Tuck ends and set in grease loaf pan.  Once both halves are in pans, cover and let rise until doubled again.
Place oven rack on lowest setting and preheat oven to 425.  Bake bread for 15 minutes then cover with aluminum foil.  Bake and additional 15 minutes.  Remove bread and let cool.

