Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_20170622_211515_1

I wanted to whip up some simple cookies to bring to work.  These were the result of some google searches and some brainstorming.
I took my homemade cake mix and pulled out a pint of applesauce.  My cake mix needs vanilla to give it a little flavor boost so I pulled that out with some chocolate and butterscotch chips.

IMG_20170622_212507_1

To make the batter, I mixed the applesauce and vanilla with the cake mix.  Now, the applesauce didn’t add quite enough moisture so I splashed in some milk (maybe a 1/4 cup) until the mix was just moistened.  Then I mixed in about a cup of chocolate chips and a cup of butterscotch chips.

IMG_20170622_212808

Then baked at 350 for 10 minutes.

IMG_20170622_215010

My family rather liked them and everyone says they taste like brownies.  Personally, my taste buds are all a mess since I got sick so I can’t taste them.  I wish I could because I love the texture but, to me, they have no flavor.

Cake mix cookies

1 cake mix
1 pint (2 cups) applesauce
1 tsp vanilla, if needed
1/4 cup milk, if needed
1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup butterscotch chips

Mix together cake mix, applesauce, and vanilla.  If all of the cake mix is not moistened, add milk a tablespoon or so at a time until all the mix is incorporated.  Mix in chips.
Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.

My cake mix made about 6 dozen.

