Tags

, , , ,

IMG_20170611_150346

Last year I experimented with rose syrup and jelly.  The jelly didn’t set up all that well so this year I decided to skip it.  We discovered we loved rose syrup and tree tip syrup in our tea.  It took tea parties at our house to a whole new level.  When the roses started blooming, I couldn’t wait.

My husband so lovingly picked me a bunch of rose petals – it’s been hot and I’m still a bit under the weather.  I gave them a quick rinse and a run through the salad spinner before putting them in a quart jar.

Instead of my usual making a tea out of the item I want to make syrup and then combining it with sugar, I thought I’d go with a technique I learned last year.  The technique wasn’t perfect but I thought I could work with it.

I poured my sugar on top of my rose petals.  Thinking back, next time I would layer the petals and the sugar because it was not as easy as I had hoped to get the sugar all the way to the bottom of the jar.  However, this process results in a very fragrant sugar.  It was hard not to just eat the sugar.  (If you like, you can stop there and strain out the rose petals for rose sugar – be sure to store in the fridge.)

IMG_20170611_150540

Speaking of fridges, I let this sit on the counter for the first day and then it spent a week in the fridge.  I took it out now and again to shake/stir the sugar around the petals.

When I was ready to make syrup, I dumped the contents into a saucepan and heated it on low.  I used about 1 cup of water to help rinse out the jar and poured that into the saucepan.

The result was a very fragrant, low water content syrup.  The taste is amazing.  It’s not as pretty as other rose products but I don’t care.

IMG_20170619_075110_1

Speaking of pretty, I have been infusing white vinegar with rose petals.  My mom has this addiction to flavored vinegars and oils.  It dawned on me that I could easily make my own vinegar and why not experiment.  In the end, if it’s terrible I can use it to clean my toilet or something.  Oh – imagine it in the rinse of the laundry.

I’m letting this sit for a week and will get back to you about how it ends up.

IMG_20170619_075201_4

I realized I should note that these are wild roses not domesticated.  Any non-sprayed roses are fine but I recommend tasting a petal before you pick a bunch.  Some flowers taste better than others.

 

