Tags

, , , ,

IMG_20170514_161651

I made these scouring powders about a month ago but didn’t take the opportunity to test them until this past week.  We have horrible hard water and it leaves the weirdest funkiest orange residue in our bathtub.  Both scouring powders worked surprisingly well on our bathtub.  I believe version 1 may have worked a little bit better but it’s also a bit more harsh (but smells so good).

I will say that I never take baths because our tub is never not gross because of the water. The tub hasn’t looked as beautiful as it did after I used these scrubs.  I was really tempted to take a bath when I was finished.

Both of these came together easily.  Version 2 is probably more accessible and inexpensive.  I used shaker lids for canning jars because I happened to have them.  I bought them ages ago because they are cool and then they sat in my canning supplies.  Don’t feel you need to buy them.  You can sprinkle this powder on with a spoon or your hands or use an old shaker container (such as a spice jar).

I did spray the tub with a mix of vinegar and water before adding the scouring powder.  I let the powder sit for a few minutes before taking a rag to it.  I don’t think you need to let it sit.

Scouring Powder Version 1
1/2 cup baking soda
1/2 cup washing soda
1 – 2 TB diatomaceous earth
1.5 teas cream of tartar
10-15 drops lemon essential oil
2-4 TB ground lavender buds

Mix until combined.

*I buy my cream of tartar by the pound from SFHerb.com which is quite affordable.  The Dollar Tree sells diatomaceous earth as cat litter – it needs to be ground into a powder before using.

 Scouring Powder Version 2
1 cup baking soda
1/2 cup salt
1/2 cup washing soda
5 drops lemon essential oil

Mix until combined.

I think I used grapefruit essential oil instead of lemon but any citrus essential oil will work in these recipes.  The citrus oil helps cut through grime but I’m not sure version 2 has enough to be truly beneficial so perhaps any essential oil would work.

