Tags

, , , ,

IMG_20170604_205800

Tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches were a staple when I was growing up.  While they held a sort of nostalgia, I never really liked grilled cheese or tomato soup.  You see, I was born a foodie.  I ate what I was served but once I had a real choice, I started to discover that what I loved because I loved my family was not the food I really wanted to eat.

When I was in my early teens, I discovered a recipe that made me a tomato soup lover.  The original recipe wasn’t perfect but a small adaptation and we had a new family staple.  The soup still comes from a can but I add grilled onions and bacon and top with cheese.

In this picture, I did not add cheese to the soup because I made some amazing grilled cheese roll-ups.  This is a new recipe for me and it has a few kinks that need working out but, overall, this is going to be my new soup companion.

The reason I never liked grilled cheese is I can’t stand fake cheese.  That means I usually make my sandwiches with cheddar.  Last week I discovered a new product – it’s Kraft Big Slices American.  This is not fake cheese nor is it wrapped in plastic.  This is a colby/cream cheese blend.  The end result is a melty cheese that tastes like cheese.

To make the roll-ups – cut the crust off your slice of bread and flatten with a rolling pin.  Add one half of a big slice of cheese and roll.

Here is where I had a little problem – the original directions had you melt the butter in the pan and fry the roll-ups.  The side that touches the pan/butter sucks up all the butter leaving none for the rest of the roll-up.  It didn’t mess up the roll-ups in anyway and I doubt my family noticed but it was a little unnerving to flip and find you are out of butter in the dish.

I’m thinking I will either butter the roll-up before adding it to the pan or do a quick roll in the pan before I let the roll-up sit.

Meanwhile, I’m learning to love tomato soup and grilled cheese.

