Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_20170521_095917

Monday is sort of kicking my butt – I had way too much fun this weekend.  The sun has finally arrived in the Palouse and I have a bit of a Monday hangover (not enough sleep).  Tomorrow (I promise), I’ll start the handmade paper tutorials.  There’s a lot of information so it will take at least 3 posts to prevent them from being novels.  Today, I just wasn’t in the mood for that much thinking.

This weekend, I made banana muffins.  They were so easy and so good.  These are soft, melt in your mouth muffins.  Only made a dozen so there’s no chance you will grow tired of these muffins before they are all gone.  To be honest, I’m not a big muffin fan.  I’m not a huge quick bread fan.  I find them to be that type of food that I just don’t know what to do with.  Often, they are dry.  They are too sweet to not feel like junk food and just don’t make me feel like I’m getting dessert.

These muffins, though, are super moist.  They are not too sweet and have a nice healthy feel to them.  You could add whole wheat flour to make them feel more healthy but let’s not go overboard.  These are Sunday breakfast muffins.

Vegan Banana Muffins
3 really ripe bananas
1/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup oil (I used coconut oil)
1 ¼ cup flour
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp baking soda
½ tsp vanilla (I used a homemade spiced extract)

 

Beat together bananas, sugar, oil and extract.  Mix in dry ingredients. Spoon into a lined muffin pan. Bake at 325 F for 23 minutes.

