Tags

, , , , , ,

It sounds like a weird thing to want but I’ve been saving toilet cleaning recipes for ages.  We live in an area with incredibly hard water.  Our bathroom is always gross.  The water is just gross and it’s hard to fight it.  I hate that we have to dig into serious chemicals to keep the toilet from looking like we never clean it.

I tried two recipes this weekend.  While neither really combated our hard water issue, I do believe they will do their part to keep the toilet clean (now that I have pumiced all the calcium off the porcelain).

IMG_20170514_152020

This first recipe is Toilet Cleaning Fizzies.  I, actually, have two of these recipes but I didn’t have enough citric acid to make them both this weekend.  Since this took the least amount of citric acid, I started with this one.  I will say one frustrating part of both of these recipes is that they don’t begin to tell you what size mold or how many to use.  I used 2 small star ice trays to begin with and finished using a larger flower mold that allowed me to make disks that were about twice the size of the stars.  (I got the star molds from Dollar Tree and they seem to carry them every summer.)

When I tested the recipe, I found 1 star barely did anything for my toilet.  So I used 2 stars.  Even using just the stars, I would not have gotten 30 fizzies and I really felt like I would have been using up to four based on what I did use.

What I loved is that the toilet smelled awesome.  I added more fragrance than in the recipe (more based on the second recipe than the first).  You can use whatever fragrances you like.  I picked ones I know are antiseptic.

IMG_20170514_161618

The second recipe was Toilet Cling Gel.   This one really was thick.  It barely moved from where I put it, which was nice and not nice all at once.  I had to rub it around to make sure everything was covered but it did stay after I moved it around.  The original recipe is unscented but I added Tea Tree oil to give it a bit more antiseptic property and to give it a scent.

I think these both have a lot of promise.  I’m thinking the toilet fizzies would be great to put in the toilet before heading to bed and giving the toilet a swish in the morning.  I can’t do this because I am rarely the last person to bed.  I’ve also thought about putting one or two in the tank now and again.

Toilet Cleaning Fizzies

1 cup baking soda
1/4 cup citric acid
1/2 tsp vinegar
1 tablespoon hydrogen peroxide
20 drops each tea tree, lemon, grapefruit and lavender essential oils

Sift baking soda into a large bowl (this breaks up the clumps).  Mix in the citric acid.  In a glass mix together the vinegar and hydrogen peroxide.  Sprinkle the liquid onto the dry, mixing every few drops (do not let the liquid drop in the same place every time).  Once all the liquid is incorporated, add the essential oils one at a time.  Mix well.  Spoon into silicone molds, pressing down with fingers.  Do not fill more than halfway as mixture will expand.  Let dry overnight.  Store in airtight container.

 

Toilet Cling Gel

1/2 tsp xanthan gum
1 tsp glycerin
1 cup water
1/2 cup white vinegar
20 drops tea tree essential oil

In a blender, combine all ingredients and blend until combined.

