Tags

, , ,

Brown Cane Sugar Cubes

I decided to take the Fresh 20 5-day no sugar challenge this week.  I’ve often considered eliminating sugar from our diet but it never seemed like the right time.  This challenge just felt doable.  It came at the right time.

As for the Fresh 20 part, I’m not sure I’m 100% on board with their philosophy and I definitely think she’s a bit obsessed with yogurt.  I used this as a challenge for myself.  I wasn’t perfect but the goal was to not eat added sugar.  I didn’t care if my plain, no sugar added yogurt had more than x amount of sugar.  My goal was to stop adding crap my diet.

I made this decision last week.  It was weird because I was paying attention to what I was eating and I wanted sugary foods.  I woke Sunday morning, had breakfast, and thought about baking.  I was already thinking cookies or cakes or something.  Then I opted not to because I didn’t want anything that might still be there come Monday (or to feel like I had to eat it all Sunday).

I hate to admit but we went to the store on Sunday.  My husband and I eat got a doughnut (we had a coupon for a free doughnut).  Then we split a soda.  We visited with my mom who invited us to eat dinner at her house.  So we went back to the store.  We each got our own 2 liter bottle of soda and a container of ice cream.  Honestly, I don’t even really like soda that much but I’ve been drinking it more and more.

Monday was the hardest.  I wanted candy all day.  It consumed my thoughts.  I hated watching tv that night because I can tell you there were doughnuts and peach pie more than the plot of the episode I watched.

We made some mistakes.  My husband made me a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch on Monday, at my request.  It’s my go-to sandwich.  Never dawned on me that jelly is sugar when I asked for it.  Yes, there is sugar in the peanut butter but I’ve let that one slide this week.

Overall, it was nice.  My first of sugarless coffee was a bit disconcerting but today’s coffee was great (no sugar added).  We went to Jack in the Box for lunch because I needed greasy burgers.  No temptation to drink soda.  I got soda water which is just water with bubbles.  Personally, I prefer that to soda.

I’m not finishing my snacks with a hershey kiss.  No more sweet treats in the evening.  I’m saying I am suddenly cured of eating sugar but I will say I survived not eating it for 5 days.  I think I will continue to eat less of it.  I was actually surprised at how much I didn’t even regret not getting to have sugar.  I’m not really tempted.

The best is we are going into fresh food season here in the Palouse so I can continue to keep those cravings at bay with real food.  Can’t say come winter that I won’t be a sugar slob but I can always hope that I won’t dive into the sugar as soon as the snow comes.

