Tags

, , , , , ,

I recently got Boho Embroidery from the library (click on the book cover to go to Amazon).

It’s an okay book but this isn’t a book review.  What I want to share with you is an idea the book has.  The author suggested creating an embroidery sampler for your projects.   For this, you need a separate piece of fabric in a hoop.  This is a place to keep track of what stitches you used in the project.

For me, I thought it was a great idea to create a sampler of stitches for future projects.  This is a fun way to practice and to keep track of various stitches.  I even labeled them with a marker so I knew what they were called when I go to use them later.

While I don’t plan on taking on embroidery projects, I thought this might be a fun way to add some accents to mixed media projects.  I’ve used simple embroidery stitches on paper with success.  I’m thinking that adding some fabric to projects and embroidery might be fun.  You never know.

Meanwhile, you might want to put together your own embroidery sample.  It’s a lot of fun and I love that I don’t have to have a finished project in mind to practice these stitches.

IMG_20170426_135426

