Tags

, , ,

IMG_20170416_130605

I have been desperate to try the Boxty recipe for weeks.   Any time we make fried potatoes, it feels labor intensive.  I had this great idea to boil a bunch of potatoes and grate them for future recipes such as Boxty.

IMG_20170416_124148

I, slight, overboiled my potatoes.  I prefer to catch them when they are just almost cooked but I got busy and forgot about the potatoes.  The only disadvantage of cooking them this far is you don’t get nice looking potatoes.  The grated parts get smooshy.  But it has never ruined a dish.

The bag above went into the freezer after we had hashbrowns and a batch of boxty.

IMG_20170416_124154

Because I started with prepared potatoes, I wasn’t certain how much was 6 medium potatoes so I took out about 7 handfuls of grated potatoes.  I should make a note here – I didn’t even think about the fact that she starts off with raw potatoes and not precooked so I’m not sure how this compares to the actual dish.

IMG_20170416_130344

As if using cooked potatoes wasn’t enough of a change, I decided that my boxty needed bacon and onions.  I fried the bacon, reserving the grease, and then the onions.  In my warm skillet, I added more bacon grease (I poured it off the skillet and then added it back in amounts I needed).

IMG_20170416_130623

The end result was so tasty that I don’t care if I made it right.  You don’t get a pretty picture of the final result because my final result wasn’t pretty but it was so delicious that looks really didn’t matter.  This batch made enough for my husband and I to share what we made in the skillet and some leftover.  My original plan was to eat the first one by myself because it was so good and make a second one when my husband was ready to eat.  However, even with a smaller skillet, I couldn’t eat more than half of it.  So the remaining boxty was fried for burritos.  That was good too.

Boxty (ala Sara)

6-7 handfuls of grated cooked potatoes
1/4 flour
4 rations of bacon, cut into little pieces (I like to use scissors)
1 onion, chopped
salt and pepper

Fry bacon until just crispy.  Pour out bacon grease into heatproof container.  Add about 1 tablespoon back into pan.  Fry onions until soft.  Add bacon and onions with flour to potatoes.  Season well.
Add another tablespoon of bacon grease to skillet.  Pat in potato mixture, making one large pancake.  Fry until golden brown.  Carefully, flip and fry the other side.

The flipping is really hard and most likely your pancake will fall apart.  Not a problem.  Make sure all of the pancake flips so you don’t burn any of the parts.  Serve with ketchup or sour cream.

 

