Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_20170410_190719

Pizza is a quick, easy, and inexpensive way to feed your family.  Making it at home, you control the ingredients and how healthy you want it to be.  It’s really one of the most perfect meals.

While pizza is not a “real” recipe, I am including my family’s favorite pizza dough recipe.  This is a super easy recipe – no fancy ingredients.  Should be basics in the pantry.  And it’s fairly allergy friendly.  I would assume it would work fine with gluten free flour but don’t quote me for that.

We use this dough to make 2 pizzas that are about 12 inches in diameter.

As for toppings – we go to the dollar store for pizza sauce and pepperoni.  I prefer to use 1 package of pepperoni per pizza.  My husband can stretch one package for both.  One jar of sauce will easily cover the two pizzas with a little extra.

We often get a good sale on cheese but 8 ounces can cover both pizzas.  A good sale we can get 8 ounces for about $1.50 (sometimes as low as $1.25 but that doesn’t happen as often).

I share these prices because for less than $5, I have two pepperoni pizzas that not only feed my family dinner but provide enough for my lunch the next day.  Often we don’t make anything else so it’s not like we eat a lot of filler with the pizza.  A good salad would help stretch the meal.

What I love about homemade pizza is you can throw leftovers on it or random things from your pantry.  I’ve been known to take pizza dough and make potato and onion calzones (dough folded to make a sealed sandwich type food).  If we happen to have some sort of tomato sauce (such as spaghetti sauce) we dip, otherwise we eat them with mustard because they can be a little dry unless you find some cheese.

We’ve make sauerkraut and sausage pizza.  We’ve made pizza with goat cheese or no cheese.  The possibilities are truly endless.

Pizza Dough
2 cups flour
1 tablespoon yeast
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon sugar
2/3 cup lukewarm water (plus an additional 2 tbsp)
Mix 1 cup of flour with all other ingredients. Gradually add 2nd cup of flour until it forms a ball. Use your hands to form and knead the dough. Let the dough rest 10-15 minutes in a bowl covered with a dish towel to keep it warm. Spread out onto greased pizza pan and top with your favorite toppings. Bake at 375 degrees for approximately 20 minutes.

