Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_20170404_135644

So I apparently wasn’t sure if this was going to turn out because I completely forgot to take pictures.  It looks terrible (this is from my lunch) but it tastes so good.

This past weekend, I did 2 brownie experiments.  I went back to my brownie mix and made it with 1/2 cup applesauce instead of eggs.  The flavor and texture is good but the brownie is rather soft.  As you can see here, it’s not holding up to the rest of the recipe.

After letting it cool, I turned that into Peanut Butter Truffle Bars.  These are so rich and so tasty.  Even with the crumbly brownies we are in love.  (recipe posted below)

Then I tried a new recipe.  I used applesauce as the egg replacer and all olive oil.  They taste okay but they still had that weird oily surface and never felt like they were fully cooked.  I’m going to stick with the original brownie mix.  So far they hold up the best to egg alternatives and have a really good flavor.

Peanut Butter Truffle Brownies
Brownie Mix with ingredients to make
½ cup butter, soft
½ cup peanut butter
2 cup powdered sugar
2 teas milk
1 cup chocolate chips
1/4 cup butter
oven to 350. Prepare brownies according to the box. Cool completely 1 hour. In bowl, beat butter, peanut butter, sugar and milk. Spread over brownies. Melt chocolate and butter in microwave until smooth. Cool 10 minutes, spread over filling. Refrigerate 30 minutes until set.

