Tags

, ,

Image result for historical registry plaque

I love historical houses – as you know from previous posts this year.  Architecture tells such amazing stories and I am constantly amazed by the work done ages before there was technology.

As part of my merit badge plan, I had to research the National Register of Historic Places.

One thing I learned recently is that there are many levels to the historical register and it’s not just houses.  A location is to be preserved – it can register at the local, state or federal level.  For it to be considered for federal registration, it must be registered at the state level.  The registry can include a building, a collection of buildings (or district), land or and object.

For example, in Pullman we have a road on the National Registry.  The road is about a block long and made of brick.  It’s about 100 years old and the oldest road in our community.  How awesome is that.

 

 

The National Register of Historic Places is under the National Park Service which explains why so many parks have historical buildings.

So I don’t have a lot to say about the NRHP except go play in their website.  I love the map feature.  I can’t wait for the weather to dry up a bit here so I can go look at these amazing places.

One thing I should note is that many of these listings are privately owned properties so be respectful when checking them out.

