Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_20170319_152144

I saw a recipe for Roasted Chickpeas on a food website.  I was intrigued by it but I didn’t have many of the ingredients outside of the chickpeas.  So I created my own version with what I had on hand.  Suddenly, I had a snack that my family devoured.

IMG_20170319_113603

Three simple ingredients – chickpeas, olive oil and pickle or olive brine.  If your brine is not very salty, you may need some salt as well.

IMG_20170319_113914

Drain your chickpeas.  If you are egg-free, save the “juice” – it makes a great egg replacer.  Rinse your beans to make sure there is not remaining gunk.

IMG_20170319_114049

In a jar, mix 1 part oil to 1 part brine.  Here I have 1 cup of each in a quart jar.

IMG_20170319_114334

Add your chickpeas and let soak for some time.  I like to make this up when I am busy in the kitchen (say while making breakfast) and then cook the chickpeas hours later.  The oil and brine will separate leaving your chickpeas to soak up the flavor.  Just before draining, give it a good shake so your chickpeas come out with oil on them.

I drain over a glass pitcher to save the brine and oil.  Because it still separates, I do drizzle more of the oil over the chickpeas if they look dry.  Save the remaining oil/brine mix especially since I’m sure this will become a favorite.  My family doesn’t like chickpeas and they love this recipe.

IMG_20170319_142746

Lay your chickpeas in a baking dish.  I like going for something that crowds them because it keeps them soft.
Bake at 375 for 35 – 45 minutes.

Taste when they come out, salt while they are still warm.

IMG_20170319_152100

Note – when I was making these for this post, I used home canned chickpeas.  I ended up overcooking them a bit because I did not realize that the chickpeas I canned were smaller than those I buy in the store.  In fact, I never gave size much thought.  If your chickpeas are small, reduce the cooking time.

If they do get overcooked – not a problem, they are a little crunchy but taste so good.  I do recommend eating them quickly because the really crispy chickpeas go stale quickly.

Roasted Chickpeas

1 jar chickpeas
1 part pickle or olive brine
1 part olive oil

Drain chickpeas.  Mix together brine and oil.  Add chickpeas.  Shake chickpeas often while letting marinade for a couple hours.
Drain marinade (reserve for future chickpeas).  Layer chickpeas on baking dish. Bake at 350 for 35 – 45 minutes.
Salt if necessary.

 

 

 

 

 

 

