Tags

, , ,

IMG_20170314_104249

Irish Whiskey Pie has been a tradition in our house for St. Pat’s day for about twenty years.  Before I discovered I was allergic to eggs, our version had an egg yolk custard and whipped egg whites.  So for years, I’ve been trying to make a version that tasted good but skipped the eggs.  (For those who can have eggs and want to try the original version, I’ll post it at the end.)

This is a simple pie, best made the night before.  There is a little trick to it which sometimes I do well but sometimes not.  The custard part should be cooked until it is fairly warm throughout.  Then chilled until it is just cold.  If left too long at either point, the custard gets thick and doesn’t blend with the whipped cream.  This time I watched it all very carefully and had no issues.  I had decided I would whip the custard in the mixer to make it smooth but it wasn’t necessary.  But if your custard gets hard, whip it well before mixing in the cream.

Few notes – the original pie recipe is as it was given to me, I’ve made some mental changes since then.  First, I rarely add salt to my desserts and never in something where the salt is not the accent.  Second, I don’t do food coloring.  The pie gets a light green aura from the jelly but is fairly white when finished.  Not one person has complained that the pie was not green enough.  I find we can taste the food coloring and it throws off the best part of the flavor.  Last note – feel free to whip your own cream.  I’ve done it with great success.  Right now whipped topping is super cheap while whipping cream is not.  I didn’t measure the amount of whipped topping I used, I just made sure there was some left to garnish the top of the pie.  However, most of the garnish stuck to the lid when we opened it so you can choose to make it pretty or not.

Irish Whiskey Pie  (egg-free version)

1 chocolate graham cracker ready-to-use pie crust
1/4 cup Irish whiskey
1 pkg. unflavored gelatin
1 tbsp. sugar
2/3 cup light cream
1 tbsp. mint jelly
1 TB Ener-G Egg Replacer with 2 TB water
1 container whipped topping
Green food coloring (opt)

Combine gelatin and  sugar in saucepan. Beat the egg replacer with water and let sit for a moment.   Add egg replacer, cream and whiskey to gelatin mixture. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens slightly. Stir in mint jelly. Chill until mixture begins to thicken.  Fold 2-3 cups whipped topping into custard mixture. Add green food coloring to desired shade. Turn into crust. Garnish with remaining whipped topping and refrigerate until firm. Let stand at room temperature for 2 hours before cutting.

 

Irish Whiskey Pie (original recipe)

1 chocolate graham cracker ready-to-use pie crust
1/4 cup Irish whiskey
1 pkg. unflavored gelatin
1 tbsp. mint jelly
2-3/4 cups whipped topping
2 tbsp. sugar
2 eggs, separated
Green food coloring
2/3 cup light cream
1 dash salt

Combine gelatin, 1 Tablespoon sugar, and salt in saucepan. Beat egg yolks lightly. Add egg yolks, cream and whiskey to gelatin mixture. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens slightly. Stir in mint jelly. Chill until mixture begins to thicken. Beat egg whites to soft peaks. Beat in remaining sugar until mixture holds a stiff peak. Fold meringue and 2 cups whipped topping into custard mixture. Add green food coloring to desired shade. Turn into crust. Garnish with remaining whipped topping and refrigerate until firm. Let stand at room temperature for 2 hours before cutting.

 

