Tags

, , , , , ,

img_20170219_113023

Over the weekend, we went to a Taste of Africa potluck.  Cate’s Ethiopian Chickpeas is what I ended up bringing.

I altered her recipe as I often do.  In this case, her recipe really serves one or two people and I needed a dish to feed many.  This is vegan and was the only vegan dish to appear at the potluck so it was nice for the one vegan in the group (it was just a coincidence).  I had to adjust to what vegetables I had easy access to which turned out to be carrots and potatoes.

We have the hottest cayenne pepper ever.  The frying of the spices nearly killed us.  The heat was more than my family likes.  I liked it.  While my mouth was on fire, it didn’t linger long after eating.  I, also, found that it took a lot less food to get me full with the heat.  I liked that.

My version is a little less stew like and I think it’s because I didn’t increase the water enough.  I liked it like this but you may want it to be more fluid.  We served the dish over rice which helped with the heat.

Ethiopian Chickpeas
2 tablespoons olive oil (more if necessary)
1 large onion, chopped
3 large carrots, sliced
3 potatoes, cubed
½ teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 rounded teaspoon paprika
1 rounded teaspoon ginger
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 scant teaspoon cumin
1 scant teaspoon cardamom
1 can petite diced tomatoes
2 cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 -3 cups water

Add dry spices to dry stock pot.  On medium heat, roast the spices for about 3 minutes.  Add olive oil and onion.  Saute until the onion is tender.  Add carrots and potatoes.  Saute for a minute or so to get the vegetables well coated with seasonings.  Add tomatoes and water.  Let cook until the vegetables are mostly tender.  Add chickpeas.  Let simmer for about 5 minutes.  Add more water as needed.

Serve over rice.

 

