Tags

, , , , ,

Garlic

Stock photos to the rescue since I keep forgetting to take a picture.  Not that there is anything interesting to see, I know it’s nice to have a picture.

Back in November, I watched Marjory Wildcraft’s video on making Four Thieves Vinegar.  If you have been following this blog, you know I can’t follow directions but that’s not why I am sharing this, she didn’t offer any instructions on what to do with the vinegar once you had it made.

So in December, I got me a piece of horseradish root, a bunch of garlic and a good bit of ginger.  I didn’t take the time to find the best versions – horseradish and ginger can be hard to find in our area so I took what I could.  I thought, I am sure, I had a stockpile of dried rosemary.  It has still to make an appearance.

Prep work is easy – I scrubbed the heck out of the horseradish.  Washed the ginger.  Both of those got a good shredding.  What I couldn’t shred, got chopped up.  Horseradish is a very tough root so be aware.  For the garlic, I just separated the cloves and smashed them between two cast iron skillets.  It still took a little bit of time to pick out all the garlic but it didn’t feel time consuming or difficult.

Then I dumped all those bits into a gallon jar.  The big change I made was I used over-fermented kombucha instead of vinegar.  Then I let that sit for about a month.  I strained and put the liquid into this fun jug we have.  I noticed that the food bits still had a lot of fire in them so I brewed another batch of kombucha until it was too vinegary for us and added that to the jar.

As for serving, we take 2 tablespoons in a shot glass most mornings.  My husband was really good when he was sick.  He felt it really helped but he’s not willing to do it while he is healthy.  For the last month, I’ve been feeling good while everyone around me got sick.  I was a little cocky because I had no problem sharing drinks or all those things I’d avoid if someone was sick and I was not.

I, now, have a cold but it’s very minor and I suspect it won’t last very long.  However, everything else has been really good.  I’ve not gotten sick when everyone else around me has been practically dying.

Let’s get real for a moment because I know what you really want to know.

I forgot to mention that when we first started our “shots”, we added a couple drops of rosemary essential oil.  That was unpleasant.  So much so that my husband decided it was not necessary.

The taste is not great but it’s not the worse ever.  It’s hot and rough, especially in the morning when I take it.  But it’s over quickly and I think it’s going to make a big difference with our health.  If nothing else, the probiotics from all the fermenting are going to improve our gut flora.

