Tags

, , , ,

img_20170215_091024

We buy our nuts raw from Costco.  They come in 2 pound bags.  I like to keep a variety but, apparently, walnuts are not a family favorite.  I noticed the other day our walnuts were beginning to be less than fresh.  They haven’t become rancid but in a short time they will be.

I needed a solution to encourage my family to eat them up.  I realized I could roast them.

My mom suggested that I run them under water to remove any oils on the surface of the nuts.  The idea is that removing the oils would reduce that stale taste.  I must say it does help.

Roasting is easy.  My recipe is based on chex mix.  My 2 pound bag probably had about 1/2 a pound missing but I didn’t take the time to get an exact weight.

I would definitely do this again.  The only change I would make would be to reduce the amount of oil I used.  The nuts are a bit oily and there was a fair amount of oil left behind in the pan.

I might, also, increase the salt.  The nuts don’t taste salty and I’m craving salty foods badly right now.

We found the walnuts went really nice with bananas as a snack.

Roasted Nuts

1 1/2 – 2 pounds raw nuts
1/3 – 1/2 cup olive oil (I used 1/2 cup)
2 1/2 TB worcheshire sauce
1 1/2 teas seasoning salt
3/4 teas garlic powder
1/2 teas onion powder

Mix the seasonings into the oil (I use a 1 cup measuring pitcher).  Pour over nuts in a large bowl.  Mix well.  Pour into a 9 x 13 casserole/cake pan.  Bake at 325 for 30 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes.  Reduce heat to 300 and bake for an additional 15 – 30 minutes.

Let cool before eating.

