Tags

, , , , ,

img_20170117_134427

Sorry, today’s pictures were an afterthought but that doesn’t mean that you should totally disregard this post.  I mean we are human after all and a picture doesn’t begin to share with you how wonderful something tastes.

I have been seeing brownie recipes all over the place.  Brownies are like the bane of my existence.  I can’t get a decent batch to come out and that was even before we went egg free.  While these still don’t come out perfect for me, I am in heaven with this recipe.  The mix recipe is so easy and quick.  It was hardly any work to make.  The hardest part was deciding how many jars to make (I made 3 because I just happen to have 3 empty jars sitting on my counter).

I will share the mix recipe at the bottom of the post.  I want to share the two experiments we did once we had two batches of the mix made up.

The first was to replace the eggs using Aquafaba or bean juice (3tbs juice equals 1 egg).  The end result was very typical of the brownie mixes that we have made using one egg replacer or another.  The brownies are flat, undercooked and oily.  I did only cook these 20 minutes because, in the past, if I cooked them longer they turned into rocks.

While they look unappealing, these brownies taste awesome.  It looks undercooked but they’re not.  Their weird but they taste so good.  As you can see we had no problem sampling them.  We had a spoon and a jar of homemade peanut butter frosting.  The family really enjoyed them.

img_20170117_133526

Knowing how the first batch tasted, we were really disappointed when the second batch came out.  They look beautiful.  We did have to cook them about 10 minutes longer (30 minutes) but they look like brownies.  This time we subbed out the eggs for pumpkin (1/4 cup equals 1 egg).  They have beautiful texture but the pumpkin taste is all you get.  Not exactly my favorite.  Strangely enough, they were barely sweet and not very chocolatey.

img_20170117_134604

I know, I know – I’ve completely sold you on this concoction.  I want you to understand how we feel about these brownies.  I made these two batches and then made 3 jars of brownie mix.  It’s a recipe worth trying.  For those who can eat eggs, this is an awesome recipe.  For those of us who can’t, it’s a long range experiment in the making.  I’m thinking that it won’t be too hard to change it up some more and figure out the perfect brownie batch (or we’ll stick with the undercooked, oily mess we get with egg replacer).

Brownie Mix
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
Mix together in jar or ziplock bag.

To make brownies: add to mix 2 eggs, 1/2 cup oil (melted coconut oil or butter can be used), 1 teaspoon vanilla.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20 – 22 minutes.

 

