Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Vintage Noahs Ark Illustration

I am always looking for a way to simplify our emergency preparedness plan.  It just seems to get more and more complicated.  When I discovered Project Noah last year, I thought this might be a fun way to make sure we are focusing on the right needs for our family and getting our emergency kits more organized.  It’s not going to be perfect but I like the idea of catering to one aspect every month.

Project Noah was created by Sun Oven.  This is their description “Project Noah is a year-long food storage and emergency preparedness program designed to help you set and obtain goals in the area of family preparedness. The program is divided into twelve monthly assignments touching on lots of short and long term preparedness subjects including a preparing, a reporting and a sharing segment each month. Our plans include learning specific details and techniques each month, and sharing what we’ve learned with family members and others in our communities. Each month we will include these in our newsletter. These lessons are designed to be used in church or community groups focused on preparedness. Start your own group and use these newsletters as a reference resource. Many articles will link to previous articles on SunOven.com. Click through for additional information.”

They started the project last May and I just wasn’t prepared to participate.  My original plan was to start it this month but I’m just getting around to it.  So I came up with a new plan.  January is my month zero – an opportunity to prepare myself and my family for the journey.  I will share what the next month will entail mid-month and share with you what I accomplished in my monthly report at the end of the month.

Because I didn’t think ahead, I’ll tell you now what I plan for January and what February should look like.  You are welcome to follow along.  The link at the top of the page goes to Sun Ovens Month One so you can read what they have planned for that month.

January – Inventory Emergency Kits and Create a One Month Meal Plan (Is there enough food storage to meet that plan?  Can I create a month of meals out of our food storage without having to purchase anything?)

February – Water Storage (make a plan and begin to collect water), Collect a year’s supply of toothpaste and toothbrushes.

Let’s see if this year, I can actually get a handle on our emergency kits and food storage.

