Tags

, , ,

This song came on the radio this morning.  I’ve always had a fondness for this song and the video is iconic but this morning, I was just listening.  A captive audience on my morning commute.  The lyrics struck me.  I’m not sure I’ve ever actually listened to the words.

You could have a steam train
If you’d just lay down your tracks
You could have an aeroplane flying
If you bring your blue sky back

While the meaning behind them is not exactly what I was interpreting this morning.  I found that idea that I could have anything if I just laid the groundwork.  Seemed like a perfect message for this first week of the year.  It’s easy to forget to lay the tracks and spend all the time thinking about the wonderful train you could have, not really understanding why it’s not coming together for you.

My real goal this year is to look at the bigger picture of my life and take control of what I can.  Often I try to make goals and then feel knocked around by things that I don’t have complete control over.  However, I have control over what I do when these situations come up.  I have to stop letting what feels like a mountain stop me from getting my train.

What songs have inspired you this year?

