Tags

, , , , ,

img_20170102_191517

Isn’t that a gorgeous side dish?  The flavor is so great that we have no problem with the fact that it made a fairly large amount of food.  It is so easy.

I want you to know I made this up as I went along and I kind of dumped things in from my refrigerator but you can make a version of this without worry.

It took a bag of carrots (I believe it’s 2 pounds).  Scrub well, remove unsavory ends (ours had been in the fridge a little while so our ends were really unsavory), and cut into bite sized pieces.  Drop into saucepan and just barely cover the carrots with water.  You don’t want too much water.  Add 2 cups marmelade.  This is a good time to use up old marmelade.  Ours was fairly crystally.

Let that cook for about 5-10 minutes over medium high heat or until the carrots are almost tender.

Add 1 pound washed cranberries.  At this point you can dump in any leftover cranberry sauce which is what I did.  I had about 1/2 cup of orange cranberry sauce leftover from Thanksgiving (it’s a lot like jam so it doesn’t spoil) and a handful of sugared cranberries that I froze ages ago.

The end result is a not so sweet tart side dish that helps cut rich meals.  It’s a lot like cranberry sauce in flavor but it’s so much healthier, I think.  It’s a nice chance from a lot of the food we’ve been eating this past month – so much gravy and sweets.

I will say that it’s a bit wet so definitely serve with a slotted spoon.  I’m thinking the remaining liquid will be perfect as a syrup with seltzer water.

Carrots and Cranberries
2 pounds carrots
1 pound cranberries
2 cups marmalade

Scrub the carrots.  Chop into bite size pieces.  Just barely cover with water.  Add marmalade.  Cook over medium heat 5-10 minutes or until carrots are just tender.  Add cranberries.  Continue to cook until the cranberries have burst (might splatter).  Serve with slotted spoon.

