Tags

, , , ,

img_20161030_183245

Isn’t that just a gorgeous pan of cornbread?

My family really loves Jiffy Cornbread Mix but I hate that I have no idea what is in it, not like I do when I make cornbread from scratch.  But then, I love that I have recipes that use a box of jiffy mix and I know exactly how much it makes.

So the solution was to make my own.  I didn’t invent this recipe.  I just found it somewhere (it was in my great recipe stash).

I want to share two things with you.

  1.  I made beans this day I made cornbread so I saved 3 tablespoons of the “bean juice”.  This is often called Aquafaba and rumor is it makes a great egg replacer.  It worked beautifully.  This was the stiffest cornbread we’ve made.  Most cornbreads barely hold together with the Ener-G egg replacer.  I was so impressed.
  2.  On trick my mom taught me is to melt butter in the pan you are using to make your cornbread and then pour into the batter.  You can’t get out all the butter so it greases your pan.  The advantage is you have this amazing buttery crust.  It’s just amazing.  I put about 5 tablespoons of butter in the pan and let it melt before pouring most of it into the batter.

I hope you enjoy this as much as we did.  We’re having it again for dinner tonight.

Corn Bread Mix
1 cup yellow corn meal
1 cup flour
1/4 cup sugar (optional)
4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
Sift together all ingredients and store in a plastic bag, at room temperature.
Makes 1 package.

To use: Pour package of mix into a bowl. Add 1 egg, 1 cup milk, and 4 Tbsp.
softened shortening. Beat until smooth (about 1 minute with egg beater).
Pour batter into a greased 8x8x2 inch baking pan. Bake at 425 degrees for
20-25 minutes or until knife inserted at the center comes out clean.
For muffins: Fill greased muffin cups 2/3 full with batter. Bake at 425 degrees
for 15-20 minutes.

img_20161030_183509

