Tags

, , , ,

img_20161027_222236

This is one of those recipes that started as one thing and has become something else.  The original recipe is Strawberry Oat Bars by the Pioneer Woman.  The only big change I made to the oat bar part of this recipe is that I changed the butter out for coconut oil.

img_20161016_191909

If you don’t own a measuring cup like this, I highly recommend one.  I use this all the time.  It’s great for sticky foods like coconut oil or molasses or peanut butter.  This measuring cup comes out at least once a week so it was worth the investment.  And then I discovered this.  So the recipe calls for 1 3/4 sticks of butter.  A stick of butter is 8 tablespoons.  To convert for coconut oil, I realized I needed 14 tablespoons of coconut oil.  I wasn’t sure how I was going to measure that until I noticed that my awesome measuring cup also measured tablespoons and teaspoons.  So it just increased the usefulness of this measuring cup.

One thing to be aware of when using coconut oil, it’s very reactive to temperature.  So when I added my cold apple pie filling, it was impossible to smooth out the top crust.  In the end, didn’t make a difference.  The oat bars were still awesome.

Let’s talk about the other big difference – I used apple pie filling (hence apple pie oat bars).  I made apple pie filling using Ball’s recipe.   I used 16 cups of sliced apples because I wanted to use up all the apples on my counter and I didn’t end up canning the filling.

I didn’t really measure the filling but I would say that a batch of filling will make 3 batches of oat bars.

I don’t know if our oven is not heating well or what but it took longer than 40 minutes for our oat bars to cook fully.

Apple Pie Oat Bars
14 tablespoons coconut oil
1-1/2 cup All-purpose Flour
1-1/2 cup Oats
1 cup Packed Brown Sugar (or 1 cup granulated sugar and 1 TB molasses)
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
3 cups apple pie filling
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Butter a 9 x 13 baking dish.
Mix together the flour, oats, brown sugar, and baking powder. Cut in the coconut oil with a pastry cutter until it resembles coarse crumbs. Add half the mixture into the pan and pat lightly to pack it tight. Cover with the apple pie filling and spread with the back of a spoon. Add the other half of the oat mixture over the top and pat lightly again.
Bake until light golden brown on top, about 35 to 40 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool in pan.

 

