Tags

, , , ,

img_20161022_184318

For someone who has never been to the South, I love Southern food – or at least the versions I have eaten up here in Washington.  I have a real love of hushpuppies.  I don’t know why I don’t make them more often, except that for them to be at their best they need to be deep fried and I don’t deep fry all that often.  Hushpuppies are quick and easy to make.  One of the simplest side dishes ever.

I will say that I was having a little problem with my fry oil which all stemmed from the fact that I spilled the oil and never really recovered from it.  Consistent oil temperature is key and easy to monitor with a candy thermometer.

Without further adieu, here is my hushpuppies recipe:

Hushpuppies
1/3 cup onion, diced
1 cup cornmeal
4 TB flour
1 TB yeast
½ cup milk*
1 TB sugar
¼ teas pepper
Cooking oil
Heat milk to about 100 degrees. Add yeast and sugar and let sit for 5-10 minutes. Meanwhile add onions, cornmeal, flour and pepper to a medium sized bowl. Add buttermilk. Mix gently until completely wet. Pour oil into cast iron skillet, about 2-3 inches deep. Heat to 375. Form 1 inch patties and cook until golden.

*I should note that buttermilk is traditional but I often use what I have – milk, whey, non-dairy milks.  If you have a sweetened milk, skip the sugar.  If you like it – add some diced peppers (even jalapenos).  Personally, I like just the onions.

