Tags

, , ,

img_20161022_192901

One of the things I have missed since we starting going unprocessed is crescent rolls.  I don’t actually like crescent rolls but I love many of the recipes that require canned rolls.  And I miss those.  So when I found a recipe that allows you to make your own crescent rolls I snagged it up.  It only took me something like 10 years to get around to making them.

This recipe requires Bisquick.  Thankfully, I have a really good recipe for your own Bisquick Mix.  I have the recipe for the mix but none for using it to make biscuits.  We use 2 cups mix and 2/3 cups milk (more as needed) and that seems to work just fine.  Bake 425 for 10 minutes.

Back to the crescent rolls.  I overcooked them a little.  Our oven has been wonky lately so I went for the longer 12 minutes cooking time and that was a little too much for our oven.

I don’t know if was because I overcooked them or if it’s the way they are but I found these to be really dry.  And weirdly, they tasted just like canned rolls.  Since I have never been a fan of the rolls to start with, I’m just not sure how I feel about these.  However, I will be getting the ingredients for my favorite recipe that uses crescent rolls and then I will let you know.

Meanwhile here are the recipes for you to try.

Copycat Bisquick Mix
6 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons baking powder
1 tablespoon salt
1 cup vegetable shortening
Sift flour, baking powder and salt three times into a large bowl. Cut in the shortening with a pastry blender until mixture resembles fine crumbs. Store mixture in an airtight container in the refrigerator up to 4 months

Crescent Rolls
1 package active dry yeast (2 1/4 teaspoons)
¾ cup warm water (105°F to 115°F)
3 to 3 1/2 cups Bisquick mix
2 tablespoons sugar
In 1-cup measuring cup, mix yeast and warm water; let stand 5 minutes. In large bowl, stir 3 cups of the Bisquick mix and the sugar; gradually stir in yeast mixture. On floured surface, knead dough until smooth and elastic, about 10 minutes, adding remaining 1/2 cup Bisquick mix as needed. Roll dough into 12-inch round; cut into 12 wedges. Roll up wedges, starting at wide end, to form crescent shape. Spray cookie sheet with cooking spray; place rolls, point sides down, on cookie sheet. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and cloth towel. Let rise in warm place (80°F to 85°F) 1 hour or until doubled in size. Heat oven to 425°F. Uncover rolls. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until golden. Serve warm.

