Tags

, , ,

img_20161023_170922

I have a collection of recipes that I’ve had for the last twenty years.  Most are almost note-like.  There are no notations as to where I found these recipes so I can’t even return to the originals if I come across a problem.  The saddest part is that I haven’t made them all.  I just collect them and they gather dust.  I am a recipe hoarder.

Every now and again, I decide to clean out the files and make some recipes.  This week has been all about pudding.  I have two mix recipes, this one and a vanilla one I’ll be sharing later in the week.  I love homemade pudding but I have yet to make a chocolate pudding that just isn’t gross.

So I tried this one.  The mix, alone, makes tons of pudding.  I was really crossing my fingers on this one.

I did make a few changes.  I was nearly out of cornstarch so I went with arrowroot powder.  I, also, omitted the salt.

The mix was easy to make up – which I expected it to be.  The actual pudding was even easier.  I subbed out the butter for coconut oil and had pudding in a short amount of time.

I only have one complaint.  The texture was a little weird.  It’s hard to explain but trying to get it on the spoon was really hard.  The taste and texture as I ate it was perfect.  It was exactly how I want my pudding to be.  I suspect that the odd texture was due to the arrowroot powder.

The cooking of this one is actually easier than the other pudding (which I am having a little difficulty with).  I highly recommend it.  This is going to become a permanent fixture in my house.  I love that it is made with pantry items that I already invest in.  I really should figure out the cost because this should make 8-9 batches of pudding.  At $1 (on sale) in the store, this could turn out to be a huge saving.  Regardless, it already feels cheap because I didn’t have to do or buy anything special.

Pudding mix
1 ¼ cup powdered milk
2 ½ cup sugar
1 ½ cup cornstarch
½ tea salt
1 ¼ cup cocoa
Add ¾ cup mix to 2 cups milk, 1 tablespoon butter and 1 tablespoon vanilla. Bring to a boil and remove from heat.

Now what pudding wouldn’t be complete without whipped cream.  I’d read numerous recipes for making whipped cream out of coconut milk.  Coconut milk is one of those things I like to keep on stock.  I’m not always successful and I often can’t get full fat coconut milk.  But if you are like me and happen to have a can in the pantry – pop it into the freezer for about 30 minutes.

Remove and open carefully (try not to shake up the can too much).  Scrape off all the solid parts of the milk.  Drop in your mixer (or bowl) with a few spoonfuls of powdered sugar (I used probably 1 tablespoon or so).  Beat the dickens out of it.  Mine was still lumpy in places and it had a strong coconut flavor but it was so awesome.  It’s been months since we’ve had anything remotely like whipped cream.  A little of this goes a long ways.  I used it on 5 bowls of pudding.  About a tablespoon a serving leaves you feeling like you got a treat.  It’s very rich and smooth and creamy.  Makes me sad that the remaining cans in my pantry are the low fat versions.

