Tags

, , , , ,

This book is not going to be a classic.  It’s fun.  It’s wordy and a little complicated for the target age.  The pictures are incredibly colorful and engaging.

I’ve been reviewing books for ages and I’m rather particular these days.  This book would be a hard one to recommend if it wasn’t for one major factor – this book has me so excited because it makes vegetables entertainment.  This is not veggietales (while that made veggies fun, it did nothing to encourage the viewer to actually eat the vegetables – trust me I know this from personal experience).

The Rootlets are little vegetable kids.  They look like kids with a few attributes that let you know they are not your run of the mill kids.  They have secret powers.  This is the second book and I missed the first.  The only information that I was disappointed not to have was what all the powers were (only 2 of the 4 were featured here).

They live in a vegetable based world.  That’s what makes me happy.  While it’s just words, this book introduces young children to a variety of foods that are so good for them.  Not only do the characters live in a world filled with fun foods, they ask for them to eat.  I have to say, I loved the roller coaster at Plantasy Land with it’s carts in the shape of pea pods, carrots, and ears of corn.

As a foodie, this has been a children’s book that has completely got me hooked.  I’m already searching for the first book (btw, click the picture at the top and it sends you right to amazon to buy the book).

The only thing that would make this even better is if they turned it into a cartoon series.  I’d be right back to cartoon watching.  That’s how fun this book was.

So, I thought I’d share a link to the website and got a little lost on the way (so many cute and fun things to do there).  I love this new day and age where all the cool books have websites.  Check out The Rootlets and introduce your favorite kid to the wonderful world of fruits and veggies.

