Tags

, , , ,

I keep telling myself that I am taking a break from doing book reviews and, yet, they keep putting out books that I can’t resist.  I was asked to help promote 2 children’s books, this being the first one.  They are books so near and dear to my heart that I really struggled with the decision before giving in.

Honestly, as a foodie and a greenie, how could I say no to a book that talks about how the environment affects the food we eat?

This story starts out with Ethan and his morning pancakes.  His mom explains how the WHOLE WIDE WORLD helps to make his pancakes taste so good.  Excited, Ethan goes out to play in the pond and maybe fish a little.  While there, Ethan makes a poor choice and dumps a can of oil in the water.

Next time he gets pancakes, they don’t taste so good because that can of oil polluted the flour.

This is a story for children and it’s unrealistic but that doesn’t detract from the moral of the story.  What we do to the environment damages the food we eat.  This is a terribly important message for kids to take in (and adults too).  This book encourages children to see how their actions have consequences which is awesome too.

I could stay here and lecture on food and the environment but I really just want to encourage you to pick up a copy of the book.  It’s fun.  It’s cute.  And it’s important.

When all is said and done, try the pancake recipe at the end of the book.  In fact, try it with organic ingredients and compare it to the non-organic.  It will have a greater impact on you and your children.  And just in case you are in the choir – pick this book up and share it with your less greenie friends.  Click on the picture on top to be sent to amazon (retails for $9.99 and $17.99).

While you are waiting go over and play at http://www.thepancakesbook.com/ .

