Tags

, ,

 

I want you to know that I did have a post planned for today but when I heard it was Mad Hatter Day, I knew I had to deviate from the plan.

Alice in Wonderland is my favorite story of all time.  It doesn’t matter how many versions or alterations done to the story, I am there watching it every time.  I love the craziness and all the chaos.  I love that nothing and everything makes sense.  In its way, it feels so normal.

When I was a kid, I had the White Knights Ballad memorized.  It still gets me every time – it’s silly and yet there is such a touching tale within.  Alice in Wonderland makes madness and creativity seem wonderful and inviting.  As a weird kid, I could appreciate Wonderland and feel like there was a place for me.

Now as for the Mad Hatter (since this is really his day, not Alice’s), he had the best lines.  I love Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland and the fact that the Mad Hatter is a large part of the story, not just a stop on the crazy train.

My favorite line – “You’re entirely bonkers. But I’ll tell you a secret. All the best people are.”  I have no idea if this line is from the original but it’s still a great line.  After all, we are all mad here.

