Tags

, , ,

yellow-corn

Have you made soup yet?  Are you waiting for one that matches your pantry better?  Here’s one that is so simple.

Now we did start of with dried sweet corn.  I bought a big can of it last year and we were down to the last serving.  My husband so nicely got up in the morning and started the soup.  It was one onion, chopped.  He sauteed it in the crockpot on high with a little oil.  Then added a quart of stock and the last of the corn.  And let that cook all day on low.

It cooked up beautifully but it was light on the corn.  So when I got home, I threw in 2 cans of corn and a can of evaporated milk.  Then because I thought it needed a little flavor, I threw in a good handful of bacon bits.

The end result was awesome.  It was a little on the thin side.  We’re having the leftovers tonight but adding some potatoes and a bit of pork (that’s the rumor anyway).

I will say that I based this off of two recipes.  I promise to share the first but the second had you puree the soup in the blender and adding chili powder instead of bacon for added flavor.

The last thing I should note is that we did add salt and pepper.

The following recipe is what I used to make all the time and for some reason stopped making it about 10 years ago.  It’s a great recipe and I’m glad to dig it out again.

Corn Chowder
1 pound bacon
1 large onion, chopped
1 can cream of chicken soup or 1 cup chicken broth and 1 cup whipping cream
1 pint half and half
2 cans creamed corn
Salt and pepper to taste
Fry bacon crisp and crumble. Save 2-3 tbs. grease. Use grease to fry onions in large saucepan. Stir in the soup and half and half. Dump in the creamed corn and season to taste. Serve with bacon sprinkled on top.

 

