Tags

, , , , ,

squash-23841281804141i6nd

One of the great things about soup is that you can throw it together at any time.  Many soups come together quickly and only get better as you continue to cook them.  This makes them perfect for the crock pot.  They are not very photogenic, though.  At least, they aren’t if you remember to take a picture.  Okay I completely forgot to take a picture but it wasn’t pretty just eating it.

I was bingeing on cookbooks over the weekend.  One was a very fancy cookbook but the ideas were so great.  One being zucchini soup.  My garden did nothing this year (I’m not bitter), so I never got fresh zucchini this year but in previous years, I had so much that I dried a bunch.  Then had no recipe or idea of what to do with that.

The soup was perfect.  A great way to re-hydrate the dried vegetable and have a dinner that tasted good.  Sometimes dried veggies just don’t taste good when used.

Again this is a concept not a recipe.

I started with about an onion and a half.  There were 3 in my fridge that were in desperate need of being used.  I chopped them all and used about half for this soup.  I sauteed in a bit of olive oil.  I let these cook for no less than 10 minutes.  I wanted them good and golden but really soft.

To that, I added about 2 cups of coarsely chopped dried zucchini and a quart of stock.  I kept a second quart on hand because I knew the zucchini would suck up a lot of that stock.  I let that cook for 30-45 minutes.

When I was ready to eat, I added the second quart of stock and let it heat through.  I did fry some falafel for dinner and it feel apart so I used that in the soup like I would croutons.  The soup was amazingly good.  Simple, warming and filling.

