Tags

, , ,

img_20160910_195544

I apologize but this week my pictures are going to suck.  I have a lot of experiments going on and not a lot of picture taking.  I thought I’d share some soup experiments this week.

This recipe is more of a concept.  Our garden performed poorly this year so we have a small amount of tiny, tiny tomatoes for each harvest.  The first was just eaten but when the second came, I wanted something that felt like food.  So I went with soup.

It starts with a chopped onion sauteed in a little olive oil.  We have sweet onions so I use a fair amount and let them caramelize so they share that flavor with every dish.  Once they were just about perfect, I tossed in my few tomatoes (washed but whole).  It was not going to be enough to make soup for three people so I added a can of diced Italian tomatoes once the fresh ones had split and softened.

To make it soup, I added a quart of turkey stock.  Then season to taste.  I used some fresh basil but, when I realized that was going to cut it, I added some dried.  Serve with shredded cheese and some sort of bread (some people like croutons, sounds good to me but I never have croutons).

Super easy.  Dinner was ready in about ten minutes.

Tomato soup

1 onion, chopped
olive oil
about 2 cups tomatoes (fresh, chopped large tomatoes, whole cherry tomatoes or canned)
4 cups chicken or turkey broth
seasonings

Saute onions in olive oil.  Add tomatoes.  If using fresh, let them cook down for a few minutes.  Add chicken broth and seasonings.  Let simmer for several minutes.  Taste often, serve when it tastes complete (herbs used have flavored the soup to your satisfaction).

 

*So it’s not a well thought out recipe but I did my best given the circumstances.  It’s great to have a few concepts in your recipe books.  That way when the ingredients are quite right, you still have something you can make.

 

 

