Tags

, , , , ,

img_20160911_122212

I wanted something interesting for breakfast.  The house was quiet.  A bowl of perfectly ripe pears sat on the counter.  In the fridge, bread dough.  Inspiration struck and I’m thinking we’ll be making this for as long as the pears hold out this autumn.

My husband likes to make a big batch of bread dough and then bakes loaves of bread throughout the week.  I don’t have the recipe but I do know that this is a peasant type bread dough.  I’m sure any bread dough will work just fine here.

img_20160911_111654

I rolled a chunk out to about 18 inches by about 10 – 1/2 inch thick.  This is not going to be an exact recipe so don’t feel like you have to be exact.  However, this will work out best if you roll your dough no thicker than 1/2 inch.

img_20160911_111926

Run a thick “roll” of soft goat cheese down the center leaving about an inch of dough on each end.  Now you can do this with any soft cheese – lemon cheese, cream cheese, whatever.  Sharp flavors probably work best here but don’t let that stop you from experimenting.

img_20160911_112053

Add approximately 2 pears sliced (minus any slices needed for sampling).  I covered that cheese and I still could have added more.

img_20160911_112224

Roll up like a burrito – fold in the ends and then roll, pinching the edges together.

img_20160911_112407

Flip over and add salt.  We like our bread with a nice crust of kosher or pink salt.

img_20160911_121558

I baked this at 350 for about 35 minutes.  We had turned the heat off and let it sit in the oven for about 10 minutes while we found counter space.  We sliced once it was just cool enough to slice.  It was still freakishly hot.  At this point, the cheese is really runny but that didn’t stop us from eating about 2/3’s of the loaf.  The cheese was creamy and the pears were so sweet.

Now the next day, we sliced the remaining pieces and set them under the broiler for a brief moment to toast it a little bit.  The cheese had remained firm and cool for that breakfast.  It was still insanely good.

You can use other fruit, if desired.  You want something that will be tender and sweet.  I know apples will work well but, as I said before, I encourage you to experiment.

