Tags

, , , ,

chickpeas-in-a-pile

Sorry about the stock photo but the truth is, even if I had remembered to take a picture, all you would see is a pile of dark brown goo.  Not very appetizing nor did it look anything like the beautiful picture on the recipe card.  But it tastes so good.

I got this recipe from the USA Dry Pea and Lentil Council.  The office just happens to be a few miles from my house but I got the card from a table at the Farmer’s market.  My version didn’t come out like it was supposed to but, as I said, it has great flavor.  And I threw it into some brownies.  Goodness.

I’m going to give you the recipe as it is on the card but I wanted to share a few things I changed.  All these changes had to do with what I had in my pantry.  No almond milk so I subbed coconut milk.  I don’t do agave so I used corn syrup.

Last thing – I tried making my own chocolate chips.  I’ve had moderate success with homemade chocolate chips but they are often too soft so I opted to go with palm oil instead of coconut oil thinking it would make firmer chips.  Nope, what I got was the consistency of fudge so I mixed it in.  My hummus was not smooth – for whatever reason the garbonzo beans would not puree smooth and then the chocolate just melted into the mess so it was lumpy, runny and brown (yum).

I made homemade pitas and the hummus was a hit.  Unfortunately the pitas went faster than the hummus so I threw it into the brownie recipe I shared last week (minus caramels and chocolate chips).  Those brownies were so good.  I think the caramels help with the texture of the brownies since they were a little dry and crumbly.

While all of this seems like a mess, I’m sharing because this is not only a great recipe but an easy recipe to experiment with.  It helps change the concept behind pulses (peas, lentils, garbonzo beans).  They really are not just for dinner.

One note – this recipe starts with all dry ingredients.  You have to soak your beans overnight but you can always use canned.  My guess is about 3 cups cooked chickpeas.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Hummus

1 cup uncooked chickpeas
2/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1/2 cup peanut butter
3 TBSP light agave nectar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup chocolate chips

The night before making the hummus, soak the chickpeas in 2 cups water in a large bowl covered with a clean towel.  The next day, drain and rinse the chickpeas.  Fill a pot with 3 cups of water and bring to a boil.  Add the chickpeas and boil for 60-70 minutes or until the chickpeas are very soft.  Drain and set aside to cool.
Place the milk, peanut butter, agave, vanilla, salt and cooled chickpeas into a strong blender or food processor.  Blend or puree until the mixture starts to take on the consistency of hummus, stirring or pushing the ingredients down with a spoon between blending.  When the mixture is very smooth, transfer to a a mixing bowl and place in the refrigerator for 20 minutes.
When the hummus is chilled, remove from the refrigerator and stir in the chocolate chips.  Top with chocolate chips and a drizzle of melted peanut butter.

  • Note: Pulling the skins off of each chickpea prior to blending will yield an extra smooth consistency.  (My note – the skins come off easier if the chickpeas are soaked in water.  This is very time consuming and I’m not sure made a difference.  I think my chickpeas might have been old so I will try again soon and let you know.)
