Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_20160820_125843

On Saturday, my husband and I joined members of our church and the community to package lentil meals for the local food bank.  This project was sponsored by Feeding Children Everywhere.

IMG_20160820_125902

Two lines of people work in one hour increments to put together the meals which are distributed to local food banks.

IMG_20160820_130025

We were in the first session and this is what we had accomplished.  Each box contains 48 bags of meals.

IMG_20160822_180047

We did this last year and thought we’d make some at home.  We didn’t so this year, we went home and made a version of the casserole.  While it’s not pretty, it is supposed to be a complete nutritional meal.  I was tasty and really easy.

I thought it had a touch bit more salt than I like but it wasn’t overly salty (I think I am just sensitive).  We added some goat cheese and served with tortillas.

This is one we plan on making into storage meals.

Lentil Casserole
1 tsp pink Himalayan salt
1 tbsp dried vegetables (the mix uses tomatoes, carrots, onions, peppers)
1/2 cup rice
1 cup brown lentils (if you use red lentils, the end result will be mushy)

Bring 5 cups of water to a boil.  Add all the casserole ingredients.  Reduce heat and simmer for 35 minutes.  Let sit 10 minutes off the heat with lid on before serving.

