Tags

, , , , , ,

1924027_148434957570_1893907_n

Tonight is the start of the National Lentil Festival and I am going to enjoy it.  It’s been a rough week and I am so glad it’s over.

To get in the spirit, I want to share one of my favorite lentil recipes.  This is the first recipe I found that got my family eating lentils.  I had forgotten it until I started digging out the recipes to share.  This was a recipe from one of the lentil cook-offs in the 1990’s.  I don’t anything else about it.  I was excited to see it was egg free so I’m thinking we’ll be pulling it out for more experiments.

Obscene Lentil Brownies
14 oz caramels
1 german chocolate cake
3/4 cup melted butter
1 cup chopped nuts
1/3 cup evaporated milk
1 cup lentil puree
1/3 cup milk
1 cup chocolate chips
melt caramels and evaporated milk in double boiler. In large bowl mix cake mix, butter, 1/3 cup milk, lentils and nuts – no mixer. Press ½ dough into greased 9×13 pan. Bake 6 minutes at 350. Sprinkle chocolate chips over crust. Pour caramels over chips. Spread rest of dough over melted caramel. Bake 15-18 degrees at 350. Cool 30 minutes in fridge.

Enjoy!  And if you are in the Palouse, come out for the festivities!

