Tags

, , , , , ,

IMG_20160808_113852

When I was young (so young), my mom got a “cookbook” from the ladies group at church.  In it was sweet and sour chicken.  It quickly became a family favorite.  Years later, I now have that cookbook and that recipe is still a family favorite.

When my son was little, I used green ketchup to make a version for Halloween.  We had it for dinner not that long ago and I realized I haven’t shared it here.  I barely look at the chicken part anymore since it has you bread and fry the chicken.  I use this sauce with chicken or pork, often pan fried or with nothing but rice.

One of the best reasons to make this sauce is that it is easy, quick, and feeds an army.  The only note I should make here is that pineapple used to be canned in syrup.  Now it is canned in juice making it less sweet.  Feel free to add a little more sugar if you find your sauce is too sour.

I lied – one more note, I don’t always use green peppers in this and we barely notice.  Since they don’t store as well as the rest of the ingredients, we don’t let that stop us from making it.

Sweet and Sour Sauce
1 onion, diced
1-2 green peppers, diced
1 can crushed pineapple with juice
1 1/3 cup brown sugar
1 1/3 cup vinegar
4 tbs. soy sauce
2 tbs. Worcestershire sauce
4 tbs. cornstarch
1 cup water
1 cup ketchup
Heat all sauce ingredients in saucepan, stirring occasionally.  Sauce is ready when thickened and completely hot.

Serve over rice.

 

