Tags

, , , ,

IMG_20160728_174439

This is one of those recipes that has been so passed around that I don’t know where it originated nor do I know if I have the right recipe.  I really wanted to try it.  First of all, we have a ton of wild blackberries in our area.  (I think the original recipe used raspberries but I think you could really use any type of raspberry like berries.)  And who doesn’t like a good cordial.  Yes, this is an alcoholic beverage.

Starts with a quart jar of clean berries.  Add 1/4 cup of sugar and let sit for 24 hours in a sunny location.  We had a little difficulty finding a place in our apartment that got a full days sun and it seemed to work out just fine.

At the end of that 24 hours, add another 1/4 cup sugar and shake to mix.  The picture above is after the first 24 hours because I forgot to take an earlier picture.

Then the berries are completely broken down add vodka and more sugar to taste.  I used a quart of vodka and found it was too much so I used the rest of my blackberries which was about 3/4 of a quart to get it to the flavor I wanted.  Because of that, my mixture sat for more than a week.

According the recipe I have, you let the berries sit for a week in the vodka away from the sunlight.  Then you strain and drink.

I did strain a week after I added the second batch of berries (which sat in the window for about 3 days).  The end result is a very sweet berry flavored drink.  So amazingly good.

I saved the berries which were still very berry like to make jam or jelly.  I haven’t decided what I am going to do with them to be honest but they went into the freezer for a weekend when I have a bit more time.

Meanwhile, it is the best evening cough medicine I have ever had.  Makes me almost sad to become well.

 

IMG_20160729_170924

