Tags

, , , ,

IMG_20160807_193928

Last week, I got a cookbook as a gift.  It’s all cookies, muffins and something else – doesn’t matter.  There were a number of interesting recipes including one that used sweetened condensed milk as pretty much the only liquid (no eggs).  I was excited especially since I had all the ingredients including a bag of graham cracker crumbs that were probably purchased when my son was an infant.  To make a long story short, I made some sweetened condensed milk (recipe to follow) only to find that my crumbs were not only old but well past their prime and completely unsalvageable.

Not to be deterred, I did some internet searching and came up with alternative recipes.  Between them all, I created this one which currently has no name.  But it’s a good cookie.  Definitely different from all my other egg free options.  It’s simple and it tastes great.  I, also, love that it’s kind of a base cookie.  I can take this idea and make other variations.

I want to go back for just a moment to the sweetened condensed milk.  I always believe that one can not have too much powdered milk (okay there may have been a time early on when I didn’t feel that way).  It’s great and there is so much you can do with it.  With powered milk, I have an entire dairy arsenal at my disposal.  I was able to make sweetened condensed milk in less time than it takes to go to the store.  Now if you want to use homemade sweetened condensed milk and don’t have or want to use powdered milk, here’s a recipe.  Just remember it takes all day.

Sweetened Condensed Milk Cookies

14 oz (or 1 batch) sweetened condensed milk
1 stick butter or margarine
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 TB baking powder
2 cups flour
1/2 cup mint chips

Mix butter and sweetened condensed milk until smooth and creamy.  Add dry ingredients and mix well.  Stir in chips.  Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

 

As for the sweetened condensed milk, I got this recipe from a Joanne Fluke novel.  It works great in recipes but not really tasty on its own.  Might be great in coffee but I haven’t tried it.  I do know you can use vegan margarine and soy milk powder for a non-dairy version without a problem.  It does come out a little lumpy but if you let it rest for at least 10 minutes before using, the lumps pretty much go away.

Sweetened Condensed Milk
1/3 cup boiling water
4 TB butter
¾ cup sugar
½ tsp vanilla
1 cup powdered milk
Whisk water and butter until the butter is melted. Add sugar and mix until dissolved. Add vanilla. Whisk in powdered milk until smooth and creamy. Equals 14 oz can of SC milk.

