Tags

, , , , , ,

IMG_20160723_102338

One thing my family loves is pancakes.  One of these bags of Krusteaz mix is under $8 (I want to say it’s 6 something but I don’t remember).  It makes about 6 months of pancakes for my family of 3 with a few extra pancakes for snacks.

Lately we’ve been trying to use up some of the stuff in our freezer which includes a huge collection of frozen bananas.  So we’ve been throwing one in our pancake mix (with the milk/water).  Recently, I thought why not see what else we could do.  This was definitely an experiment so bear with me.

I thought trying some coconut milk would add a great flavor/texture to the mix.

IMG_20160723_102511

Typically I make the 2 cups mix to 1 1/3 cup liquid.  I use 1 banana that I smash into my measuring cup and then add the liquid.  I want to make a note here – I think the batter is too thick with some of these measurements.  I made some over this past weekend exactly as instructed and the batter was so thick that I had to spoon it into the frying pan.  The end result was huge thick pancakes.  So take these measurements as minimal, add more until you have a batter that is satisfactory to you.  I prefer my batter to be just thicker than cake batter.

IMG_20160723_102407

I started with 2 bananas since I was using more liquid than I thought was needed for my regular amount of pancake mix (that and I really just want to use up more bananas).  These are frozen but I microwave them for about 30 – 60 seconds so I can mash them up fairly well.  To the bananas, I add the liquid.  In this case, I added the can of coconut milk.  I thought it was too thick  – I went with 4 cups mix to 2 1/3 cup liquid.  So I added more water.  Since this was a huge batch.  I put half in the fridge for the next day.

IMG_20160723_105204

I don’t know how many people really know how to make pancakes.  My husband hates making them because they don’t come out as well as mine.  To me, pancakes are a practice in patience because you have to take your time.  The trick is low heat.

I start off with some fat in the pan.  My favorite is butter but you can you margarine, coconut oil or a liquid oil.  I made some with olive oil and they came out like I had deep fried them.

I always add a little before each pancake and I always make one pancake at a time (which is why the smaller batch is better).

IMG_20160723_105240

The batter should be thin enough to pour and shake into shape but not so thin that it doesn’t actually pool in the center of the pan.  A quarter cup of batter should make a 2-3 inch pancake that is no more than about 1/2 inch thick.

I start on medium heat and slowly turn it back to medium low as I make my pancakes.

IMG_20160723_105320

Do not flip until you see a fair amount of bubbles burst through the top.  This will ensure that you have a completely cooked pancake.  If the bottom is browning too much then your heat is too high.

IMG_20160723_105503

Flip with a spatula.  There should me minimal splash when you flip but there should be some.

The second side will take less time.  Once it is browned to your desired color, remove to a plate.

IMG_20160723_105546

In my family, we have those who like their pancakes golden and others who want them brown.  Works great because sometimes you just can’t help it.

A few notes, you don’t want to stir your mix much because it can make the pancakes tough.  However, I purposely overmixed my batter and let it sit in the fridge overnight.  It came out thicker than what it was when I put it in the fridge but the pancakes were still as tender.  I don’t know if you have to chill them overnight (I read that to soften potentially tough biscuit dough freeze for 30 minutes so maybe that would work) but the chilling does seem to help.

The coconut milk added no extra flavor.  I was rather sad.  I could have saved the can and just added water so that’s something to remember.  We live using milk but I don’t think it makes that much of a difference.

Experiment with your plain ole mix.  We’ve done bananas with chocolate chips (did I blog about that before), added spices, and other fruit.  You can add any small fruit that is not overly wet to your completed batter without problem.  This is one of the best ways to stretch a tight budget.  Don’t let it get boring.  I’m thinking I’ll have to come up with interesting pancake mix ideas that don’t look like pancakes.

