Tags

, , , , ,

I was looking through my pictures disappointed that I only captured one recipe.  Then I realized, I got the early pictures for one and the end pictures for the other.  Oh, well.  That’s how these things go.

I want to share something weird with you.  Okay weirder than my usual weird.  Turmeric is a spice known for it’s part it’s bright yellow color and as a component for curry powder.  In my family, Turmeric is a necessity.  We use it to color and flavor tofu as a replacement for scrambled eggs.  We use it in canning – mustard, pickles, etc.  And we love it in curry.

I think every house I have lived is marked by the bright yellow of Turmeric since it stains horribly.

So when I read that people use turmeric to make drinks.  I was intrigued.  You see, turmeric is an incredible “herb” (herbs technically are the green parts of plants where roots, seeds and bark are spices).  Turmeric has shown to help with brain health.  There are a number of scientific studies surrounding Turmeric.  What I know, is that my mom’s brain improved when she added a daily dose of turmeric to her diet.  That’s all I needed as evidence.

The great thing about turmeric is that cheap to expensive, it all has the same properties.  We pick it up in the bulk section of a local grocery store for less than $3 a pound (they sell it in 5 pound bags for right about $13).  It has great flavor and is fun to play with.

The first recipe is called Golden Milk.

IMG_20160612_165739

It’s 1 cup milk, 1 tsp coconut oil, 1/2 tsp turmeric, pinch of black pepper and honey to sweeten.  On a medium to medium low heat, warm the milk with the oil and spices.

IMG_20160612_170745

Pour into mug and sweeten with honey.

I know the pepper seems to be strange (okay what isn’t strange in this recipe) but there’s something about the pepper that makes it easier for the body to use the turmeric.  Because it’s just a pinch, there was no pepper taste.

The drink had some heat but not unpleasant.  It was reminiscent of chai actually.  This one I thought the honey worked well.  I don’t know if it’s our honey but I had a hard time getting the honey to come through all the other flavors.

The second drink was Golden Coconut Chai.

The ingredients are similar to chai.  In fact, I used my chai spice ratio instead of the ratios in the actual recipe (my chai is spicier so I just added a little more).  I’m not going to share the recipe right here (I’ll post it last) because it is lengthy.  You make this a lot like you do chai.

Since I had already made a huge pot of tea, I used what remained, which was about 3 cups of tea, and added the spices.  I let that brew for 15 or so minutes.  Then I added a can of coconut milk.  This is where we hit some problems.  The coconut milk was light but it still left this awful oil slick on the top of the tea – much more so than the coconut oil that I added to the milk.  It made the tea hard to drink no matter how much you stirred.

The other problem is that there was not enough honey to make this sweet.  I don’t it just wasn’t working for me.  Since I had a little bit of tree tip syrup leftover from the earlier tea experiments, I threw that in.  The earthy green of the syrup really added something to this chai.  In fact when I had my second cup, I skipped the honey and went right for the syrup.

IMG_20160612_203213

Would I drink this again?  Yes but I would use cow’s milk instead of coconut milk.  I might add a tiny bit of coconut oil but probably not.  We use whole organic milk so there’s fat to help the body incorporate all the nutrients.  While I love honey normally, I would bypass it for some of the tree tip syrup.

Golden Chai

2 cups water
2 cups coconut milk
2 TB black tea
1 TB cardamon pods
1 TB dried ginger root
1/2 tsp black peppercorns
5 cloves
2 cinnamon sticks
1 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp vanilla
honey, to taste

Lightly crush cinnamon sticks and cardamon pods.  Add all spiced to pot with water.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 5 – 10 minutes.  Add coconut milk and tea.  Heat for 3 minutes.  Remove from heat, stir in vanilla and honey.  Strain and enjoy.

 

 

