Tags

, , , , , ,

cup-of-tea

While prepping for the sugar experiment, I made a huge pot of cardamon tea.  This is a nice black tea which pretty much tastes like tea but it’s a good one.  We found it at a Middle Eastern store.  You don’t have to have that fancy of a tea to play along but a good black tea that you like will make all the difference.

I finished our sugar experiment and thought – let’s try a mock up of a rose tea latte that I saw.  And while I’m at it, lets see how the tree tip syrup works in tea.

I went with the same ratios as I did with the sugar experiment – 1 teaspoon sweetener, 1 tablespoon milk and 1/2 cup of tea.

The first one, I use our wild rose jelly.  It didn’t really set up but it’s a really tasty syrup.  The second cup had a teaspoon of the tree tip syrup.

So, how did they come out?

The rose was so awesome that I made a full mug after the experiment.  The tree tip was tasty but not overly interesting.  I actually found I liked the tree tip syrup in a special chai recipe that I am sharing later this week.

I think the rose goes better with plain tea because it offers those nice floral notes that you often find in teas.  The tree tip syrup couldn’t quite get over the tea flavor and was kind of flat.  However, I could eat them both with a spoon so it makes sense that I would like them in my tea (if you don’t love them plain, it’s possible you won’t like them in something as “bland” as tea because there is nothing to mute the flavor).

I want to encourage you, especially if you are a tea drinker, to try some fun flavors in your tea.  My family had a blast and got to drink tea all day with so many fun variations.  Tomorrow, I am sharing 2 warm drink recipes (one is a tea) using turmeric.  Sounds weird, right?  I couldn’t believe how much I liked them and I can’t wait to share them with you.

 

