Tags

, ,

I heard this song the other day and I knew I had to share it.  While the story here is not the same as the story that came into my head, I find that I am just appalled at how some people treat their children.  I’m not talking about every day parenting or all those weird little things people do when trying to raise other human beings.  I’m talking about that deep hatred some people develop for their children.  Mostly, I’m talking about so called religious people who reject their children for being gay.  I just don’t know how you can stop loving your child.  How can you abandon them when they need you most?

The truth is that all that anti-gay speak I keep seeing on my facebook feed has actually cause me anxiety.  People I love who speak with such hatred.  Do they not realize that their children might someday discover they are gay?  It’s possible that their child will discover they are the wrong gender/sex.  It is absolutely possible that they will turn their child away for not being right and that breaks my heart.  It breaks my heart that I know these people – they are good, loving, kind people most of the time.  Why would they reject God’s children?  It makes me think of the boy who attended church (my religion but not my actual church) and then went home and killed himself.  He had been struggling with his sexuality and sat through a day of anti-gay speech in the very place that should have been his sanctuary.  The very place were he should have had love and support from friends and family.  Instead they wounded him so deeply that he left church early and took his life.

Okay so this is a cheerful note to start the week on but the truth is I just don’t know how to not feel this way.  I don’t know how to express to the pain they cause with their words.  I have so much more to say on this topic and haven’t felt comfortable enough to really put the words down on “paper”.

