Tags

, , , , , ,

While this is not the best piece of art ever created, I rather loved April’s inspiration.  May’s died a horrible death so there may not be a post about that one but April still brings me joy.

If you don’t remember what Mission Inspiration, it’s a monthly challenge where you are given several prompts and are challenged to make a journal page.

IMG_20160522_163422

#1 Adhere any size patterned paper.  Since later on the prompt is to use travel tickets, I went with some fun scrapbooking paper and scraps of maps I had from another project.  Used Gel Medium to attach.

IMG_20160522_164235

#2 Add a thin coat of paint.  I had these really weird old paints that were thick and goopy.  I loved the texture they added to the piece.

IMG_20160522_171831

#3 Add texture paste with spatula or credit card.  I made this texture paste using the recipe in the video at the top of the page (I only know how to attach them at the top of a post, sorry).  I pushed it through a stencil but I used a spatula to do it.

IMG_20160522_183149

I also opted to add more texture paste using an embossing folder like a stamp.

#4 Add paint or colored spritz.  I used my homemade spray inks to add more color.

IMG_20160522_184703

#5 Add travel ticket ephemera.  I found this ticket that is in Chinese.  I always find weird stuff like that and it looked like a travel ticket.  I have no idea what it is but it was fun.

 

IMG_20160522_191228

#6 Make marks using bubble wrap.  I used paint on my bubble wrap, you might see the yellow splotches in this picture.

#7 Add washi tape

#8 add focal quote, phrase or journalling

#9 Add stamped image in ink or paint

#10 create border or frame around page

I did skip the washi tape and the stamped image.  I liked the way my page was working out and didn’t want to bother with either of those things.  I have a very limited supply of washi tape and stamps so neither offered me anything I wanted to add.

I did finish the page with a good coat of mod podge to seal my border.

IMG_20160523_185145

