Tags

, , , ,

You may have see ghee at your grocery store.  I have in our tiny little stores and cried at the cost.  Ghee is clarified butter meaning that it was melted and all the solids were removed leaving behind, basically, butter oil.  Ghee has a longer shelf-life than butter since it does not have proteins that spoil faster than the fat.  It can withstand higher cooking temperatures as well.

I’ve been dreaming about trying ghee for ages.  I opted to make some myself using this method.  Traditionally, ghee was made by melting butter on the stove at a low temperature.  I must say, I was shocked at how fast and easy this method was.

IMG_20160417_121559

Because I buy weird sizes of butter, I didn’t really know how much butter this was so I went with my 4 cup glass measuring cup.  Turns out that this “stick” of butter is 1/2 pound or 1 cup butter.  I could have used my 1 cup measuring cup without a problem.  If you are using less than 1/2 pound of butter, use the smaller cup even if it feels too small in the beginning.

IMG_20160417_121958_1

Cut up the butter into smallish cubes.  This helps with even melting.

IMG_20160417_122828

Microwave until it is all melted and you have a layered look – white, yellow, white.  I forgot to take a picture at that stage so you have a picture of what it looks like after you scrape off the top layer.  All it takes is a spoon.  All my waste went into a small ceramic container because I never throw anything out.

Pour off the yellow into clean glass or ceramic containers.  It’s important to use glass here because it won’t pick up any weird flavors.  Because my container was so big, I wasn’t able to pour off as much of the pure ghee as I would have in a smaller container.

Didn’t matter because I saved all the waste.

IMG_20160417_124014

How to use it – the waste part is super salty (if you use salted butter) and so flavorful.  We used it on english muffins but I bet it would be awesome in pasta or on rice or in potatoes.

The ghee is no longer butter.  My husband didn’t know that when he used it on our baked potatoes.  It has no flavor – not even saltiness.  It’s like any ole oil.  We’ve been doing some minor experiments so I don’t have any big results except it’s a nice oil to work with.

Ghee is often used in making pita bread (the real stuff not that pocket stuff that was all the rage in America).  It lends a crispness to the edges of the bread.  I’m thinking when I get time and if we still have some ghee, I’ll be making some pitas and will let you know.

