Tags

, ,

I’ve been trying a few experiments with my facial routine.  I’m really basic when it comes to my skin care.  I wash with minimal soap and use it very rarely on my face.  I use no other product except my bee cream/salve when necessary.  However, I was rather intrigued by oil washing.  I tried it several times and while there are things I like about it.  It’s not a technique I can convince myself is working for me.

This week, I was thinking I really needed to baby my face.  It just needed extra loving.  I didn’t want to go with the oil so I pulled out an oldie but goodie.

Milk facial scrub has been around for ages.  In fact, my mother taught me this recipe when I first started making it.  The original recipe was 1 part milk powder, 1 part oatmeal and 1 part almonds all crushed up in the blender.  Well, when I was first making this, almonds were insanely expensive.  That meant I started reducing the amount until I stopped with it all together.

This is a super easy and can be inexpensive.  We now buy our milk powder in super bulk from Azure Standard so I feel like I can go back to using it like it’s an every day ingredient.

There’s no real recipe here.  I start with dumping several handfuls of oatmeal in the blender and topping with about half as much milk.

IMG_20160411_180627

The reason is that when blended you will have an almost equal amount of oatmeal to milk powder.

IMG_20160411_180737

IMG_20160411_180921_1

Store in a waterproof container.

To use it, place some in the palm of your hand.  I find what fits comfortably is the perfect amount.  Add a little water, drops at a time if possible.  It only takes a little bit of water to make this into a paste.  I find that if the paste feels too thick then it’s actually perfect because you will be applying it to wet skin.  You can actually add a little more water when it’s on your skin.

Scrub your face and rinse.  It will stick in your hair but it comes out with a little rubbing.  This is sensitive skin friendly but you should still test first just in case.  I’ve used this on patches of eczema and other dermatitis issues without problem.

